2016 Gala honors Sam and Missy Saxton

For Immediate Release
April 14, 2016

Longtime supporters celebrated at 2016 Gala and Auction

Missy and Sam Saxton wth son, Sam (left)


Allentown, PA—A stylish gathering of nearly 300 friends of the Allentown Art Museum of the Lehigh Valley honored two of its biggest supporters during the Museum’s annual Gala Dinner Dance and Auction on Saturday, April 9, 2016. Dr. Martha “Missy” Hutson-Saxton and husband Sam B. Saxton have donated their time, energies, and expertise in equal measures over decades, she as a Board member, Kress Society co-chair, and noted art historian who has chaired the Collection Committee and curated exhibitions on Museum founder Walter Emerson Baum; he as a key member of the 2006 Capital Campaign for the Expansion and Modernization of the Museum, helping to secure critical grants for the project. Both have added to the artistic, architectural, and intellectual life of the Valley with their efforts supporting the Museum.

Guests lingered over tables of items offered in the silent auction—everything from a Berkshires Getaway offered by Museum president David Mickenberg and his wife, Judy, to furniture from Knoll Studio, unique jewelry and fashion accessories, and works of art by regional artists—as they sipped cocktails, sampled passed hors-d’oeuvres provided by Sodexo, and enjoyed the sounds of Cliff Starkey Band. Later in the evening, auctioneers Bill and Sabina Hall tag-teamed a live auction production that saw seven high-value items find new homes, including a Cubist-style sculpture by midcentury abstract artist Peter Grippe and a contemporary “explosion sculpture” by Bucks County–based artist Steve Tobin. Museum Board chair Dolores Laputka, Esq., toasted the Saxtons, recognizing them not only for their years of service to the Museum but also for their enthusiastic support of community. Funds raised through the Gala benefit the Museum’s exhibitions and education programs.

Sponsors of the 2016 Gala: Air Products, Leon C. and June W. Holt, PPL, Sam and Missy Saxton (Rembrandt level); Lutron Electronics Co. Inc., National Penn (Gilbert Stuart level); Alvin H. Butz Inc., City Center Lehigh Valley & Cross America Partners & Dunne Manning, Crayola, Norris McLaughlin & Marcus P.A. (Frank Lloyd Wright level). Underwriters include: Bernard and Audrey Berman Foundation (Platinum level); Jeff and Helen Acopian, Dual Temp Company, Penny Holman, Jaguar Land Rover Allentown, Rita and Joseph Scheller (Titanium level); Nancy Light (Gold level).

Guests of the 2016 Gala: Mayor Ed and wife Lisa Pawlowski, Judge and Mrs. Steinberg, Alex and Ruth Torok, William and Denise Spence, Sy and Susan Traub, Russ and Marsha Mayo, Greg and Yvonne Butz, Judith Savchak, Laurie Hackett, Michael Tobert, Joan Moran, David and Holly Brigham, Dan and Lois Wells, Michelle and Richard Stringer, Jamie and Jim Musselman, Jim and Mary Klunk, Florence and Anthony Rodale, Heather Rodale, Bill and Phyllis Grube, Ann and John Lalik, Jane Heft and Dominic Basciano, Nainesh and Bindi Patel, Raina and Mike Filipiak, Christine Oaklander, Ilene Wood, Barb Williams.

The 2016 Gala committee: Terri Bartholomew, Pat Beldon, Stuart Dubbs, Dot Ervin, Arjana Etchason, Molly Faust, Jane Fretz, Susan Gadomski, Susan Harris, Elsbeth Haymon, Penny Holman, Mary Anne Johnson, Teri Johnson, Suzanne Lyons, JoJo Muir, Shirlee Neumeyer, Nancy Odorski, Carol Smoll, Lynda Somach, Sally Vikner, Lois Wells, Marti White, and SOTA president Loran Staehle.




Media Contact:
Chris Potash
(610) 432-4333 extension 125
cpotash [at] allentownartmuseum [dot] org