Museum Names New Chair, Trustees

For Immediate Release
July 26, 2012
Media Contact:
Chris Potash
(610) 432-4333 ext. 125


                                                                                                 Lehigh Valley Museum Names New Chair, Trustees

SOTA and Museum Auxiliary elect new presidents

Allentown, PA—The Allentown Art Museum of the Lehigh Valley welcomes a new Chair, Dolores Laputka, and new members to its Board of Trustees for fiscal year 2013, which beganon July 1. “We are honored to have Dolores as our new Board Chair,” says Brooks Joyner, President and CEO of the Museum. “She has been a dedicated trustee and officer for many years, and someone who has been actively involved in community service with a host of charitable and cultural organizations throughout the Lehigh Valley. Dolores brings to the position a vast knowledge of the community, strong leadership experience, and is highly respected.”

Dolores A. Laputka, Esq., is a member at Norris, McLaughlin & Marcus, P.A. (formerly Tallman, Hudders & Sorrentino, P.C.) in its Allentown office. She is currently the Chair of the Business Law Group and Vice Chair of the Estate Tax Law Group. Laputka earned her graduate degrees at Boston College and Duquesne University School of Law. She is also a Certified Public Accountant. Since moving to the Lehigh Valley in 1990, Laputka has been involved with many community organizations, including as General Counsel and past Chair of the Board of Directors of the United Way of the Greater Lehigh Valley, past President and past Board Member of the Allentown Rotary Club, and past Board Member of the Lehigh County Community College Foundation. She resides in Bethlehem. 

            Laputka succeeds Sanford “Sandy” Beldon, who just completed his second term as Chair of the Museum and who has served for many years on its Board of Trustees. “Sandy’s recent term was highlighted by the completion of a $15.4 million capital expansion and renovation of the Art Museum that has brought great praise and excitement to our institution,” says Joyner. “We are most grateful for Sandy’s long-term service and devotion.”

            David B. Kennedy was elected to the post of Board Secretary. Kennedy is president of the KNBT division of National Penn Bank. Before KNBT's merger with National Penn in February 2008, Kennedy was president of the Greater Lehigh Valley Region of KNBT. Before joining KNBT he was a Senior Vice President and Commercial Sector Manager of Summit Bank. Kennedy holds a bachelor’s degree from Lafayette College and an MBA from Lehigh University. He is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Northampton Community College Foundation and the Historic Bethlehem Partnership. In addition, he is a member of the Board of Governors of Saucon Valley Country Club.


New Board Members

Christian Martin and Jedediah Turner have been elected as new members of the Museum’s Board of Trustees.

Christian F. Martin IVis CEO of C. F. Martin and Company, Nazareth. He joined the Martin Guitar Company full time after his graduation from Boston University in 1978 with a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration from the School of Management. After the death of his grandfather, C. F. Martin III, in 1986, he was appointed Chairman of the Board and CEO. Under his management the company’s Sycamore Street facility was expanded, the successful Backpacker travel guitar and patented X Series guitars were introduced, and the limited edition guitar program was expanded to include signature models of significant artists like Gene Autry, Eric Clapton, and Marty Stuart as well as unique collaborations like the 1996 "MTV Unplugged" MTV-1 guitar.

            Jedediah H. K. Turner, FRM, is Vice President of Firm Risk Management for Morgan Stanley, New York. He received certification in 2008 from the Global Association of Risk Professionals (GARP) as a financial risk manager. Turner graduated Bucknell University with a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration. He is the grandson of Rush Kress, who oversaw the extraordinary national distribution of the Samuel H. Kress Collection to museums throughout the United States, including the Allentown Art Museum. The Kress paintings on exhibit in the Museum’s Kress Gallery remain at the core of our permanent collection of European art.

            C. Russell Mayo, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools, Allentown School District, has been named Ex Officio member. Mayo earned his masters and doctorate at the University of Virginia in educational leadership with a minor is school law and curriculum and became assistant professor at Lehigh University in 1999. For nearly thirty years before he came to Lehigh University he served in public school districts across the nation.


New SOTA and Museum Auxiliary Posts

The Society of the Arts (SOTA) has elected a new president, Theresa B. Johnson, to succeed Mary “Molly” Faust, whose term ended in June. SOTA has been supporting the educational, social, and cultural life of the Lehigh Valley through service to the Museum since 1964.

The Allentown Art Museum Auxiliary also elected a new president, Ann E. Hohe, who follows president Linda Gery. The purpose of the Auxiliary, formed in 1946, is to create and promote public interest in art and in the Allentown Art Museum, and to work for its benefit and growth.