A gem of the Allentown Art Museum’s collection is the library from the Francis W. Little House, designed 1912-1915 by famed architect Frank Lloyd Wright. In 1971, the summer house in Wayzata, Minnesota commissioned by Francis and Mary Little, which included this library, was scheduled for demolition. Fortunately, Wright’s work was able to be rescued. The library is now on permanent view at the Allentown Art Museum, while the living room is in the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.

 

Frank Lloyd Wright (American, 1867–1959), Library from the Francis W. Little House, 1912-1915, white oak, plaster, glass, copper-electroplated zinc, brass. Gift of Audrey and Bernard Berman, 1972 (1972.94)